19
Aug
08

SoundExchange and the Copywrong crowd open Pandora’s box and kill the goose laying golden eggs…

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/08/15/AR2008081503367.html

So, as a geek, I’m almost ashamed to admit that I just discovered Pandora.  I’m picky about music.  I rarely buy albums,  I just don’t like much music.  Lyrics have to have a story, the politics have to resonate, the music has to be simple and elegant but catchy. Or it has to be fun and silly. Mostly I’d rather listen to NPR, or a book I don’t have time to read. Before Pandora I probably bought on album in the last four years.  It was “A Date with John Waters.”  In the same period my wife bought the Juno soundtrack. Because my 2 year old heard the theme on NPR and said “Again mommy!”

We don’t buy music.  We don’t steal it either.  I really don’t even understand who has the spare time for that.

But, (are you listening Recording Barons?)  I’ve purchased 5 albums in the a month and a half of listening to Pandora.  Are you listening recording artists?  Pandora did what web tech does best. It linked me up with shit I like.

Wake up recording industry.  You couldn’t pay for the kind of advertising Pandora paid you for.

Wake up recording artists.  SoundExchange and the copyright board are not your side.  They are parasites.  They are interested in their profits, not yours.  They are interested in their power, not your careers.

Morons.  The lot of you.

Go ahead kill the goose.


2 Responses to “SoundExchange and the Copywrong crowd open Pandora’s box and kill the goose laying golden eggs…”


  1. May 12, 2013 at 12:36 am

    After looking into a few of the blog posts on your site,
    I really appreciate your technique of blogging.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back
    soon. Please check out my website as well and tell me
    what you think.

  2. June 15, 2013 at 2:27 am

    Your style is unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

