02
Oct
07

The Presidential Race I hope to see…

Over at The Van Der Galiën Gazette Michael compares the Ron Paul revolution to Guerrilla warfare.  I don’t disagree precisely, the internet is the asymmetrical warriors dream, but I prefer to think of the RP revolution as more like American Minutemen picking of Redcoats at Lexington and Concord. 

Michael is down on Paul’s chances.  Most of the time I am too, at least in the dark parts of my brain, unlit by optimism (it’s a dank and scary place.) But  I think that comparing RP fund-raising to Clinton/Obama is not really comparing apples to apples. 

The republican field is much wider at present than the Democratic field.   Hillary and Barak have always been THE democratic front-runners.  It’s always been a two candidate race for the Blue contingent, IMO. (I started writing that it was a two man race, but my feminist side corrected me)

When the Republican race narrows more (and I’m predicting a long over due knockdown-dragout brawl between neocons and old style social and fiscal conservatives)  I think the fund-raising numbers will be more informative.  I think it may well come down to a Rudy/Ron Paul, Hillary/Barak set of primaries.

I hope to live in the America where Ron Paul and Barak Obama face off with a green and an independent in the Presidential debates.   I think that would be a race of honest differences about what is best for America.

I’m afraid we live in an America where two candidates from New York will be arguing over whose particular brand of fear should ruin the Republic.  That would be a race more about whose rhetoric will determine which insider is elected to fill eight more years with policies (social, fiscal and ‘diplomatic’) nigh on indistinguishable from the last eight.

That would be a very ugly America.

4 Responses to “The Presidential Race I hope to see…”


  1. 1 kip
    October 2, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    Good post, even if I disagree. First, I think the field is getting more interesting, with Richardson and Huckabee starting to make some noise. Remember, four years ago everyone was convinced Bush would defeat Howard Dean!
    Also, the biggest difference between the two New Yorkers is over their economic policies, and in the end, I think that’s more important than these ridiculous, polarizing side issues.

  2. October 2, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    Well I, for one, agree that the presence of a green and a libertarian would force the candidates into a much more serious contemplation of issues. For I don’t see a significant difference between Clinton and Giuliani at the core; I see only difference of degree on a cold-war scale that is no longer relevant to the world we live in.
    Hillary on Cuba? Same. Hillary on healthcare? Force Americans to buy Big Insurance’s products. Hillary on nukes? Never rule them out. Hillary on Iraq? Probably long-term.
    These ideas are dusty old statuary, re-waxed for momentary gleam. Vision and creativity snore on, undisturbed.

  3. October 3, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Are they really all that different? After the last eight years I really believe that Republicans and Democrats are really only different at the margins. I don’t see many fundamental differences even on economics. Both parties seem woefully (and intentionally) ignorant about economics.

  4. October 9, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Civil Unrest: Thanks for the kind words about my blog. I must say I respect you Paulites for your tenacity.

    Thought Merchant


Leave a Reply

